Raiders News: Derek Carr Nominated For Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award
Kelley L Cox-USA TODAY Sports

The Oakland Raiders have nominated quarterback Derek Carr for the 2019 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. This is Carr’s fourth straight nomination for the award that recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

Each NFL team nominates one player every season for the award, making Carr one of 32 potential winners. Soon, a small group of players from the NFL Legends Community will narrow down the list of nominees to just eight.

Those eight will have their own section on the NFL Pro-Bowl ballot that is distributed to every player in the league on Dec. 13. Each team will select one winner and whoever receives the most votes will be presented with the award on Feb. 1 during the NFL Honors Show.

Should Carr make it to the final eight nominees, other Raiders players will not be able to vote for him. The winner will be able to make a $25,000 donation to a charity of their choice, courtesy of the NFL Foundation.

If Carr was to win, he would be the second Raiders player to win the award. In 2015, Charles Woodson was given the Sportsmanship Award to cap off his final season in the NFL. Woodson spent 18 years in the league, spending a majority of his career with the Raiders. Other past winners of the award that is in its sixth year include Drew Brees, Luke Kuechly, Frank Gore and Larry Fitzgerald.

There is no doubt about Carr’s excellent commitment to his team and to the game. He has been a clear leader for the Raiders all year, guiding their young talent to a successful season. Although the award is strictly presented to players who show sportsmanship on the field, Carr has gone above and beyond in the locker room, in addition to his work ethic on the field.

Through thick and thin, Carr has always said and done the right things. He has remained level headed, even during the most heated of moments. Surely, he will have a great chance of winning the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

The award itself is named for the founder of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Art Rooney. Rooney was a tremendous sports-lover and competitor, helping steer his Steelers to four Super Bowl victories.

Nominees in addition to Carr this season include Julio Jones, Lamar Jackson, Christian McCaffrey, Nick Chubb, Eric Weddle, Von Miller, Carson Wentz, Matthew Stafford, Deshaun Watson and Patrick Mahomes, among others.